Ditched Book

Finally! Several years ago, someone gifted me His Dark Materials (the golden compass, the subtle knife, the amber spyglass), and for the longest time, I avoided reading it cause it was a huge book, even by my standards (I can read the first 3 Harry Potter books in a day if I’m not doing anything else, or even one of the last 4 in a day while doing other stuff) and wasn’t particularly interested in it.

Well, a few weeks ago, I finally forced myself to sit down and read the first one. And I didn’t like it. But I had to read the whole thing, so I left it alone for a few days, and then read the second one. Didn’t like that one either, but at that point I might as well read the third one. While my lovely Harry Potter fanfiction (which I am almost constantly reading) was calling to me, I sat myself down on the couch and powered through the last book. It was the most interesting, admittedly, as it vaguely touched on evolution in alternate worlds, but ugh, not to bash books, but I do not recommend this one. I hated it, and honestly think it was poorly written. I was told that it was definitely something that I would like, and I am disappointed that I had to slough through the stories because I love to read, but this one didn’t just feel like a chore to me, I felt like I was suffering through it. I obligated myself to finish it so I wouldn’t be left wondering, but I am SO glad to see that book go. I left it at my parents house and it will go to the library eventually for someone else and I hope that they are thrilled to find it.

That’s really it for now, I have decluttered something that has been weighing on me for years, and I have been spreading the word that I do not want any physical gifts unless they are consumable. I can pick out my own books, thanks, and I can find recommendations at the library or borrow them from someone. What a relief. 

Leave a Reply

