Decluttering Parent’s Home

I am currently at my parents house, I am spending the entire week helping them to declutter–when I offered, I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. The biggest issue is my dad–he is a pack rat and very sentimental, but even my mum is proving to be more difficult than I anticipated. There are six junky bottle openers (that I have found so far), and they always use the nice one, but she wanted to keep them because they entertain Parrotheads and “you can never have too many bottle openers.” Yes, you can. I’m going to select one of the junky ones to keep, and I just found a second nice one. Three bottle openers is plenty, we don’t need eight. I’m sure there are more hiding around somewhere…

I found a bottle of nail polish in what used to be the card game drawer, along with three packets of flavoured margarita salt, and other random things… It’s hard to sort through, because while I would get rid of all of it, or use it within the next month, I’m sure my parents will want to keep some of it.

At least I got some control over the kitchen cupboards. I no longer want to rip my eyeballs out when I open them. I consider that a huge win. Still had some tension over the amount they are keeping, but it’s not my house, and they do have sound arguments for keeping what they do. I even convinced my dad to reorganize the sentimental/special glassware in the liquor cabinet. It’s a lot more crowded than I would do for a display, but he insists that he likes the way it looks.

The bathrooms are done, and I’m sure that 3 months from now, everything will be totally disorganized again, but at least I managed to get rid of a lot of stuff so it should at least be easy to find stuff, even if it’s not in it’s proper place.

This is incredibly stressful/relaxing for me. Once I finally do complete a section, I feel much better, but because it isn’t my stuff, I have to check in, and half the time I get a lecture about why something needs to be kept. It’s not my place. If it’s honestly important to you, then keep it, but please don’t expect me to care about a decorative nesting doll that belonged to someone I never met.

Orion out. I need a drink!

Leave a Reply

