Cleaning

I hate cleaning. That’s a big part of why I decided to head down the path of minimalism. Less stuff, less to clean. However, to start this, unfortunately, requires a lot of cleaning. Right now my bedroom floor is covered with a variety of bizarre items–lotions, glow sticks, contact lens supplies, a box of dye, some gum, notepads, and writing utensils, just to name a few.

I’ve already managed to trash most of the actual junk, but I still have to figure out what to do with the items that I’m saving for a specific purpose, like the dye and the glow sticks. Thankfully I swept several times as I was dumping stuff onto the floor to sort through, so it’s not actually dirty, just messy. That’s how I clean… Or at least, at the moment. That may change in the future, but it is very satisfying to throw a bunch of stuff on the floor and sort through it.

4 thoughts on “Cleaning

  1. In the beginning it does just feel like a lot of cleaning. You’ll find that every time you enter a room you’ll see something you’ve missed. Sometimes it’s easier to do just one section at a time, instead of entire rooms. It’s a journey, and it takes time. After this stage, it will be easier. The real change comes when learning to avoid re-filling those spaces with new ‘things’. Learn to save your money and time and devote it to hobbies and other activities you love

    Like

    1. I actually prefer doing entire rooms, and because I will be moving soon, my efforts are mostly focused on my bedroom and closet, because only a few items of mine are in the rest of the house, but once I move, I will be doing exactly that, because I will not be living alone, so it will have to be done more slowly.

      Thankfully I’m moving into a 2 bedroom for a few months before looking for a studio, so it can be a multi-step process. And I gave myself 8 months advance because I’m graduating in December and moving, and the last thing I want to be doing is decluttering and trying to move at the same time. πŸ™‚

      But it was the perfect excuse to start on the path of minimalism!

      Like

      1. Moving is a great time to start since you’ll have to go through all of your stuff anyway! Just think, less stuff, less stuff to move! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

